®
speaker
Nobel & Laureates Library Online!

Great • Alfred • Nobel • Gives • Aspiration
Der Name der Ganga-Bibliothek

Der Name der Ganga-Bibliothek

Übersetzt von Marcel Hasler

R.V.Nagaveni M.D.,M.S. Gründer, Ganga-Bibliothek

Die Ganga-Bibliothek ist nach meiner Grossmutter väterlicherseits Gangamma benannt, die nach der Wassergöttin Ganga benannt wurde. Grossmutter Gangamma war eine intelligente, liebende, offenherzige und grosszügige Frau.

Diese Seite gibt Einblicke in das überwundene Elend, gebrachten Opfer, harte Arbeit, Drang nach besserer Bildung, Herausforderungen, überwundenen Hindernissen und dem Kampf gegen Diskriminierung, die man zahlreichen Preisträgern zuschreiben könnte. Es zeigt auch, wie wichtig Schiffsprotokolle sind, auf denen man manchmal einen Preisträger findet. Egal wie fortgeschritten die Wissenschaft oder Technik sein wird, die Menschen werden sich immer Gott wenden.

Gangammas Vater, Anwalt Krishnamurthy, pilgerte 2,222 Meilen von der Ortschaft Kadaba in Karnataka in die Stadt Kaashi am heiligen Fluss Ganga, wo die drei Flüsse zusammenkommen. Seine Rückkehr wurde von der Geburt seines zweiten Kindes begleitet. Er nannte das Kind "Ganga".

Grandmother

Grossmutter Gangamma in 331, 15. Strasse, 2. Block, Jayanagara, Bengaluru 560011. Todestag: 10. April 1976 Foto: Dezember 1968

Grandmother

Grossmutter Gangamma. Von mir aufgenommenes Foto mit einer Kodak Kamera meines Vaters, R.V. Ramiah, einem wohltätigen Mann aus den USA.

Kinder und ältere Menschen sind meist stärker von Grippeepidemien betroffen als andere. Die Grippeepidemie von 1918 kostete aber auch das Leben gesunder junger Erwachsener. Während dieser Epidemie verstarben Gangammas Ehemann, Benkanniah, ein grossartiger Samskritha-Gelehrter und ihr wohltätiger Schwiegervater, Narayanappa, Oberhaupt einer wohltätigen Familie, innerhalb von nur 15 Tagen. Ihr gieriger, unrechtm&aml;ssiger Schwager, der sie diskriminierte, weil sie eine Frau war, nahm ihr ihren rechtmässigen Eigentumsanteil und beraubte sie damit ihrer Lebensgrundlage. Ihre zwei Kinder waren mein Vater, der dreijährige [Venkata] Ramiah, und seine jüngere Schwester. Zu dieser Zeit war Gangammas gutherziger Vater, Krishnamurthy, ein Anwalt, bereits verstorben. Auch hundert Jahre später hat sich am Verhalten indischer Männer gegenüber Frauen nichts verändert.

Auf dem Foto sieht man Gangamma zu Hause in der Garage. Sie liest Kannada Chandamama im warmen Schein der Sonne. Mein Vater R.V. Ramiah, Maschinenbauingenieur und ein gutherziger Mann, geboren in Raagimuddanahalli, Gubbi Talk im Distrikt Tumkuru, hat dieses Haus erbaut. Während seiner Zeit als Direktor von Small Scale Industries in Neu Delhi schickte ihn die Indische Regierung nach Bengaluru, wo er als Teil der Geschäftsleitung das Central Machine Tools Institute [jetzt Central Manufacturing Technology Institute] aufbauen sollte. Obwohl er das Institute aufbaute, verweigerte ihm die Indische Regierung den Posten als Institutsleiter. Darauf entschied er, zu seiner vorherigen Direktorenposition zurückzukehren und arbeitete in der Geschäftsstelle in Bengaluru. Er verstarb mit 54 Jahren sehr jung und war zu dieser Zeit Direktor des Small Industries Service Institute Rajajinagara in Bengaluru.

Ramiah

R.V. Ramiah, Maschinenbauingenieur, mit der Tasche mit 50 Rupien an Stelle der Goldmedaille, wie von ihm gewünscht. Todestag: 13. Februar 1969

Während seiner gesamten Ausbildung war Ramiah immer Klassenbester. Er gewann den Physics Cookes Preis. Er überprüfte auch immer die Testresultate, um sicher zu sein, dass er das beste Resultat erzielt hatte und dass niemand aus Versehen besser war als er und damit seine Spitzenposition übernahm. Nachdem er seinen Ingenieurstitel als Klassenbester erhielt, bat er den König, Maharaja Krishnaraja Odeyar, der die Urkunde übergab, um Bargeld an Stelle der Goldmedaille.

Bahadur

Ihre Hoheit Maharaja Nalwadi Krishnaraja Odeayr Bahadur IV und seine Braut Rana Prathap Kumari von Kathiawar, 1900. Maler: Raja Ravi Varma. Fotograf: Rupika Chawla. Quelle: Wikipedia

Bevor ich in die USA reiste, erzählte mir meine Grossmutter Sannamma folgende Geschichte. Ramiah war ein Fakultätsmitglied des Sri Jayachamarajendra Occupational Institute [jetzt Polytechnic] in Bengaluru. Die Indische Regierung vergab eine Stipendium für eine Graduiertenausbildung in den USA. Voraussetzung war ein Hochschulabschluss. Er reichte seine Bewerbung gemäss den Vorgaben an seinen Arbeitgeber ein, der diese an die Indische Regierung weiterleiten sollte, also über den korrekten Weg. Seine Vorgesetzten hatten jedoch Vorurteile ihm gegenüber, weil er ein Brahmane war, und leiteten seine Bewerbung nicht weiter. Gegenüber der Regierung logen sie, dass in ihrem Institut niemand einen Hochschulabschluss habe und sendeten ihnen stattdessen Bewerbungen von Angestellten, die nur ein Diplom vorweisen konnten.

Die meisten der Sanaathana Dharma [Hindu] Nobelpreisträger sind Brahmanen. Nicht wie Bhaaratha [Indien], diskriminieren wissenschaftlich fortgeschrittene Länder und die Nobelpreiskomitees die Brahmane nicht. Ähnliche Diskriminierungen gegen Bevölkerungsgruppen gibt es aber auf der ganzen Welt.

Wavell

Der Vizekönig von Indien, Field Marshal Sir Archibal Percival Wavell, an seinem Schreibtisch in Delhi.

Nachdem er von den Lügen und seiner Benachteiligung erfuhr, schrieb Ramiah dem höchsten Offizier von Indien unter Britischer Herrschaft, Vizekönig Wavell, der darüm;ber entschied, wer das Stipendium erhielt, dass er einen Hochschulabschluss besass. Vizekönig Wavell lud ihn darauf zu einem Gespräch nach Delhi ein. Die Experten befragten ihn in Chemie. Er sagte, dass Chemie kein Pflichtfach für Schüler, die ein Ingenieursabschluss anstrebten, war. Er fügte aber an, dass er die Fragen beantworten würde, wenn sie ihm etwas Zeit gäben. Sie sagten, er solle um 4 Uhr am nächsten Tag wiederkommen. Am Folgetag beantwortete er sämtliche Chemiefragen und erhielt das Stipendium. Ramiah wollte, dass alle eine gute Bildung erhalten, auch Frauen.

Records

US Navy, New York, 28. Dezember 1945, Protokoll Schiffsankünfte, Archiv der USA, Washington D.C.

passenger list

US Navy, New York, 28. Dezember 1945, Passagierliste, Archiv der USA, Washington D.C.

Am 30. November 1945 reiste Ramiah als indischer Zivilist auf einem Schiff der US-Marine von Kalkutta in die USA, um ein zweijähriges Studium in Landmaschinen am Iowa State College zu absolvieren [jetzt Iowa State University]. Er schloss sein Studium nach eineinhalb Jahren ab. Ich fotografierte Grossmutter Gangamma mit einer Kodak Kamera, die er bei seiner Rückkehr mitbrachte.

Paul, ein Historiker in den Staatsarchiven der USA in Washington erklärte mir, dass, obwohl Indien nicht in den Zweiten Weltkrieg verwickelt war, die US-Truppen im benachbarten Burma [Myanmar] stationiert waren. Als der Krieg zu Ende war, blieben die Truppen in diesen Ländern, um zu helfen. Um wieder in die USA zu gelangen, brauchten Sie einen Schiffshafen. Kalkutta liegt nahe an der Grenze zu Burma. Die USA akzeptiere nur Immigranten aus Europa. Wäre das Liverpool, England, wäre es ein Passagierschiff gewesen, das in die USA fuhr. Erst viel später änderten die USA ihre Einreisebestimmungen und wählten die Immigranten aufgrund ihrer Fähigkeiten. Die wenigen Inder auf der Passagierliste sind alles junge Männer von denen wohl viele für ein Studium in die USA reisten.

Grandparents

Grosseltern mütterlicherseits T. Rama Rao und Sannamma. Sie sagte oft, "ein jeder sollte wohltätig sein."

Mein Ur-Ur-Grossvater Ashwathiah pilgerte zweimal 4,444 Meilen aus dem Dorf Thirumakoodalu, Kanrataka, nach Kaashi, um seine Nachkommenschaft zu sichern. Nanjundiah, die Tahsildar, war geboren und blieb ein Einzelkind. Najundiahs Schwiegersohn und -tochter, meine Grosseltern T. Rama Rao und Sannamma haben vieles erreicht. T. Rama Rao war ein Bauingenieur und unglaublich feinfühlig und geduldig. Da er den schwierigen Hulikere Tunnel erbaute, nannte man ihn auch "Tunnel Rama Rao". Zusammen mit Sir M. Vishesharayya erbaute er den Krishna Raja Sagara Damm und die angrenzenden Brindavan Gärten. Er war der Gründer des National Institute of Engineering in Mysuru. Sannamma war eine grossartige Frau, die einen grossen Haushalt führte und unzählige Verwandte und andere Menschen in ihrem Zuhause unterstützte. Sie verteilte auch Gratismahlzeiten an die Schüler des Maharaja Samskritha College. Sie kannte die Menschen in und auswendig. Sie sagte oft, "ein jeder sollte wohltätig sein." Diese Worte immer wieder zu hören war einer der Hauptgründe, die Ganga Bibliothek aufzubauen.

Ich habe viele Biographien von Nobelpreisträgern gelesen. Aus diesem Hobby entwickelte sich immer mehr eine unternehmerische Vision, der Ganga Bibliothek, von der die ganze Welt profitieren soll.

India map

Foto des Gangas: Wikipedia

Der mächtige Fluss Ganga hat elf Zuflüsse, die wiederum ihre eigenen Zuflüsse, Strömungen und Quellen haben, von denen noch mehr Menschen profitieren können. Am Ende fliesst er ins Meer und erreicht somit die ganze Welt. Wissenschaftliche Entdeckungen und Friedensbewegungen, genau wie der Ganga, beginnen klein, folgen aber einem ähnlichen Muster.

Discover Your Abilities and Aspirations!

$10 $25 $50 $100 Other
Tax Exempt 501(c)3 Non-Profit Organization
Any Currency

“One comes to be of just such stuff as that on which the mind is set” - Maithri Upanishath, VI.34:3

“…the peace that is found in libraries and laboratories…” - Louis Pasteur
Copyright © 2017 Ganga Library Inc.   All Rights reserved.   E-Mail: info@gangalib.org
Contact Us

®
Great • Alfred • Nobel • Gives • Aspiration
Prize Winners' Ideas & Thought Processes!

speaker
Library Name Ganga

Library Name Ganga

R.V.Nagaveni M.D.,M.S. Founder, Ganga Library

Ganga Library is named after my paternal Grandmother Gangamma who was named after the Water Goddess Ganga. Grandmother Gangamma was a very intelligent, loving, nondiscriminating and charitable woman.

This page provides an insight into adversities overcome, sacrifices made, hard work, desire for higher education, challenges confronted, obstacles overcome and appalling discrimination overpowered that would be applicable to innumerable laureates. It also demonstrates the value of ship records which would be applicable to immigrant laureates. Irrespective of advances in science and technology, people will always request God for something or the other.

Gangamma's father, Advocate Krishnamurthy, walking 2222 miles, made a pilgrimage from the village Kadaba, Karnataka state, to the city of Kaashi on the bank of the holy river Ganga at the confluence of three rivers. Upon his return, his second child was born. He named the baby 'Ganga'.

Grandmother

Grandmother Gangamma in 331, 15th Cross, 2nd Block, Jayanagara, Bengaluru 560011. Death: 10 April 1976. Photo: December 1968

Grandmother

Grandmother Gangamma Photo taken by me with an accordion type Kodak camera brought by my father, R.V.Ramiah, a charitable man, from the USA.

Influenza epidemics usually have a greater adverse effect on children and seniors than on others. The Influenza Pandemic of 1918 took the lives of healthy young adults. In that pandemic, Gangamma's husband, Venkanniah, a great Samskritha Scholar and her charitable father in law, Narayanappa, the head of a wealthy joint family, passed away fifteen days apart. Her unjust brothers in law, discriminating against her as a woman, greedily grabbed her rightful share of the property depriving her of a livelihood. Her two children were my father, three year old [Venkata] Ramiah, and his younger sister. By then, Gangamma's kindly father, Krishnamurthy, an advocate, had passed away. A whole century later there has been no self-improvement in most Indian men regarding their attitude towards women.

In the photo Gangamma is at home in the garage, reading Kannada Chandamama in the warm winter sunshine. The house was constructed by my father, Mechanical Engineer R.V.Ramiah, a charitable man, born in Raagimuddanahalli, Gubbi Taluk in Tumkuru District. While he was Director, Small Scale Industries, New Delhi, the Government of India transferred him to Bengaluru as the sole Joint Director to establish Central Machine Tools Institute, [now Central Manufacturing Technology Institute], Tumkuru Road, Bengaluru. Upon his establishing the Institute, the Indian Government denied him the position of Director of the Institute. He chose to return to his former position of Director. He was posted to the Bengaluru office. While in service as Director, Small Industries Service Institute, Rajajinagara, Bengaluru, he passed away young, aged 54 yrs.

Ramiah

Mechanical Engineer R.V.Ramiah, holding the purse with cash of Rupees 50 in lieu of the Gold Medal, as requested by him. Death 13 Feb 1969.

During Ramiah's entire education he had always obtained the first rank. He had won the Physics Cooke's Prize. He would check examination results just to confirm that he had obtained the first rank, ensuring that nobody had accidentally scored higher than he had scored and he obtaining the second rank. Upon obtaining the first rank in engineering, he requested the award bestowing king, Maharaja Krishnaraja Odeyar, for cash in lieu of the gold medal.

Bahadur

His Highness Maharaja Nalwadi Krishnaraja Odeyar Bahadur IV and his bride Rana Prathap Kumari of Kathiawar, 1900. Painter: Raja Ravi Varma. Photographer: Rupika Chawla. Source: Wikipedia

Prior to my departure to the USA, my maternal Grandmother Sannamma narrated an anecdote. Ramiah was a faculty member in Sri Jayachamarajendra Occupational Institute [now Polytechnic] Bengaluru. The Government of India was awarding a scholarship for graduate education in the USA. A requisite was a degree. Complying with protocol he submitted his application to his employer to be forwarded to the Indian Government, referred to as 'through the proper channel.' His prejudiced superiors did not forward his application just because he was a Brahmana* [Anglicized Brahmin*]. Lying to the Indian Government that there was no degree holding employee in their institute, they forwarded applications of employees holding a Diploma which is less than a Degree.

*Most of the Sanaathana Dharma [Hindu] Nobel Laureates are Brahmanas [Brahmins]. Unlike Bhaaratha [India], Scientifically Advanced Countries and the Nobel Prize Awarding Committees do not discriminate against Brahmanas [Brahmins]. Similar discrimination against many communities exists worldwide.

Wavell

Viceroy of India Field Marshal Sir Archibald Percival Wavell at his desk in Delhi.

Upon discovering this lie and discrimination, Ramiah wrote to the highest officer for India under British rule, Viceroy Wavell, who was the authority for approving the scholarship, that he possessed a degree. Viceroy Wavell invited him to Delhi for an interview. The interviewers questioned him in chemistry. He responded that chemistry had not been a requisite for students aspiring to become engineers. He added that if he was given time he would answer their questions. They told him to return at 4 o'clock the following afternoon. The following day he answered their chemistry questions. He was awarded the scholarship. Ramiah was interested in everybody, including women, being educated.

Records

US Navy, New York, 28 December 1945, ship arrival record, Archives of the USA, Washington DC.

passenger list

US Navy, New York, 28 December 1945, passenger list, Archives of the USA, Washington DC.

Indian civilian Ramiah sailed to the USA in a US Naval Ship from Calcutta [Kolkata] on 30 November 1945, for a two year graduate program in Agricultural Machines in Iowa State College [now Iowa State University]. He completed the program in a year and a half. Grandmother Gangamma was photographed by me with an accordion type Kodak camera brought by him, upon his return.

Historian Paul at the Archives of the USA, Pennsylvania Avenue, Washington DC, explained to me that though India was not involved in the Second World War, there were US troops in neighboring Burma [Myanmar]. When the war ended, the troops remained in such countries to help. To return to the US, they needed a port to board a ship. Calcutta is close to the border with Burma. The US accepted immigrants only from Europe. If this had been Liverpool, England, there would have been a passenger ship coming to the US. It was much later that the US changed immigration laws and brought in immigrants based on skills. The few Indians in the passenger list are all young men, probably many of them coming to the US for graduate education.

Grandparents

Maternal grandparents T.Rama Rao and Sannamma. Often she would say, "One should do charity."

My maternal great-great grandfather Ashwathiah, walking 4444 miles, made the pilgrimage to Kaashi twice from the village Thirumakoodalu, Karnataka, in order to have progeny. Then an only child, Nanjundiah, the Tahsildar, was born. Nanjundiah's son and daughter in law, my grandparents, T.Rama Rao and Sannamma, had gone beyond reason. Civil Engineer T.Rama Rao was indescribably gentle and patient. Having constructed the challenging Hulikere tunnel, he was also known as Tunnel Rama Rao. With Sir M. Vishveshvarayya, he constructed the Krishna Raja Sagara Dam and the adjoining Brindavan Gardens. He was a founder of The National Institute of Engineering, Mysuru. Brilliant Sannamma, a homemaker, operated a large household, supporting innumerable relatives and others in their home and served free meals to Maharaja Samskritha College students. She knew people's minds inside out. She would say, "One should do charity". Frequently hearing these words was a major contributory factor to my establishing Ganga Library.

I read biographies of Nobelists. This reading hobby metamorphosed to a visionary entrepreneurship, Ganga Library, benefitting the entire world.

India map

River Ganga Photo: Wikipedia

The mighty Ganga River receives eleven tributaries which receive their own tributaries, expands and flows, benefitting ever more people, eventually flowing into the ocean benefitting the entire world. Scientific discoveries and peace activism, analogous to the Ganga River, commence small and follow a similar pattern.

“One comes to be of just such stuff as that on which the mind is set” - Maithri Upanishath, VI.34:3

“…the peace that is found in libraries and laboratories…” - Louis Pasteur
Copyright © 2016 Ganga Library Inc.   All Rights reserved.   E-Mail: info@gangalib.org
Contact Us